Focused on ensuring the association is on the right path

The Artificial Intelligence Researchers Association is a society driven by our vision, purpose and objectives. We look to our volunteer Governance Board and Executive Committee to ensure that the association is on the right path. 

The Governance Board operates in accordance with a Constitution and works collaboratively to set strategic direction, procure necessary resources, and make key decisions aligned with the Association’s vision, purpose and objectives.

Subject to the Constitution the Executive Committee supports the Board to deliver on the Association's vision.

Gillian Dobbie
University of Auckland
Richard Green
University of Canterbury

Co-Deputy Chairs
Mengjie Zhang
Victoria University of Wellington
Jack Copeland
University of Canterbury

Paul Geertsema
University of Auckland
Albert Bifet
University of Waikato

Tangata Whenua representatives
Rory Clifford
HIT Lab NZ University of Canterbury

Daniel Wilson
University of Auckland

Post-Doc member representativeFangfang Zhang
Victoria University of Wellington

Student member representativeKirita-Rose Escott
Victoria University of Wellington

Bing Xue
Victoria University of Wellington
Joerg Wicker
University of Auckland

Jiamou Liu
University of Auckland
Julian Maclaren
Nelson AI Institute

Patricia Riddle
University of Auckland
Ruili Wang
Massey University

Albert (Wai) Yeap
Auckland University of Technology
Sandhya Samarasinghe
Lincoln University

Stephen Cranefield
University of Otago
Brent Martin
Manaaki Whenua Landcare Research

Rodelyn Jaksons
NZ Evidence-Based Policing Centre

What we offer

  • Annual conference
  • Networking
  • Knowledge exchange
  • Promotion
  • Information

Researchers and students

We encourage all individuals who are actively researching Artificial Intelligence (AI) or in an area related to or using AI to apply for membership and contribute to a thriving AI research ecosystem in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Interested in becoming a member?